Mike Brown wins Aviva Premiership Player of the Season 2014

Harlequins and England full-back Mike Brown has capped off a superb season by winning the Aviva Premiership Player of the Season at tonight’s awards ceremony in London.  Brown beat off competition from Niki Goneva, Samu Manoa, Chris Pennell, Jacques Burger and Dan Braid and will no doubt put the trophy alongside his Six Nations Player of the Championship gong.

Quins’ Director of Rugby, Conor O’Shea said:  “It’s a thoroughly deserved award. Both for club and country this season Mike has been a model of consistency, and also a match winner.

“He’s a game breaker that changes the course of a match – no-one else has done it on a consistent level in the northern hemisphere this year, but him.

“He won the RBS 6 Nations Player of the Championships, Man of the Series in the Autumn Internationals and now quite rightly the Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Year.”

The full list of award winners is below.


Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season
Winner: Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Shortlist: Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers); Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints); Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors); Jacques Burger (Saracens) and Dan Braid (Sale Sharks).

Land Rover Discovery of the Season
Winner: Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
Shortlist: Jamie Elliott (Northampton Saints), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Elliott Stooke (Gloucester Rugby), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Owen Williams (Leicester Tigers).

Guinness Director of Rugby of the Season
Winner: Mark McCall (Saracens)
Shortlist: Richard Cockerill (Leicester Tigers), Steve Diamond (Sale Sharks)

ITV Sport Try of the Season
Winner: Jamie Elliott (Northampton Saints) v Gloucester Rugby
Shortlist: Christian Wade (London Wasps) v Gloucester Rugby, Nick Abendanon (Bath Rugby) v Exeter Chiefs, Kelly Brown (Saracens) v Northampton Saints, Logovi’i Mulipola (Leicester Tigers) v Exeter Chiefs and Dean Mumm (Exeter Chiefs) v Worcester Warriors

Gatorade Game Changer of the Season
Winner: Nick Easter (Harlequins)
Runners-up:  Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks) and Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby).

Aviva Community Player of the Season
Winner: Dean Schofield (Worcester Warriors)
Shortlist: Jamie George (Saracens), Mat Gilbert (Bath Rugby), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Tane Tu’ipulotu (Newcastle Falcons), Dom Waldouck (Northampton Saints)

Pol Roger Top Try Scorer of the Season
Winner:  Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers) – 12 tries
Runner-up: David Strettle (Saracens) – 11 tries

Gilbert Golden Boot
Winner: George Ford (Bath Rugby) – 235 points
Runner-up: Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints) – 220 points

BT Sport Dream Team
Mike Brown (Harlequins); Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby);  Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints), Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby), Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers); Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints), Danny Care (Harlequins);  Joe Marler (Harlequins), Dave Ward (Harlequins), Logovi’i Mulipola (Leicester Tigers), Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints), Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks), Dan Braid (Sale Sharks), Jacques Burger (Saracens), and Billy Vunipola (Saracens).

Green Flag Forward of the Year
Winner: Nick Easter (Harlequins)
Shortlist: Schalk Brits (Saracens), Sione Kalamafoni (Gloucester Rugby), Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints), Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks), Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)